South African Minister of Transport Fikile Mbalula has announced the reopening of three domestic airports on 21 July 2020.

Minister Mbalula made the announcement via his Twitter handle “I am happy to announce that the following additional airports have met all the requirements and will resume operations on 21 July 2020; East London, George and Kimberly”.

Senzeni Ndebele, spokesperson for Airports Company South Africa, says that reconnecting regional centres through air links is an essential element of reigniting local economies. She added that suitable health screening resources had been allocated by the provincial governments of Eastern Cape, Western Cape and Northern Cape.

“We are therefore most appreciative of the efforts of the three provincial governments in identifying and allocating qualified people who can perform the screening role which is a critical aspect of ensuring that air travel is safe,” she said.

Some local airlines have moved swiftly and announced service resumption to these cities from Johannesburg and Cape Town. FlySafAir will resume Johannesburg – East London from 24 July while on 27 July Johannesburg –George and Cape Town East London will resume. FlyCemAir will on the 22nd of July launch flights to George daily excerpt Saturdays.

#SouthAfrica  #EastLondon #George #Kimberly #JustAfricanAviation

Copyright 2020 Just African Aviation Pty Ltd, Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit being given to as the source.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *